Search Type
  • All
  • Subject
  • Title
  • Author
  • Publisher
  • Series Title
Search Title


Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere - a book by Ballantine, Poe

Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere

A Memoir

Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere( )
Author: Ballantine, Poe
Introduction by: Strayed, Cheryl
Publication Date:Sep 2013
Publisher:Hawthorne Books & Literary Arts, Incorpoarted
Book Format:Paperback
List Price:USD $16.95
Book Description:

Fans of Truman Capote's In Cold Blood and John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will embrace Poe Ballantine's Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere. Poe Ballantine's "Free Rent at the Totalitarian Hotel" included in Best American Essays 2013, and for well over twenty years, Poe Ballantine traveled America, taking odd jobs, living in small rooms, trying to make a living as a writer. At age 46, he finally settled with his...
More Description

Book Details
Detailed Subjects: Literary Criticism / American / General
Biography & Autobiography / Literary
Biography & Autobiography / General
Physical Dimensions (W X L X H):5.8 x 8.71 x 0.71 Inches
Book Weight:0.946 Pounds
Author Biography
Ballantine, Poe (Author)
Cheryl Strayed, née Nyland, was born on September 17, 1968 in Spangler, Pennsylvania. She is an American memoirist, novelist and essayist. Her second book, Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail was published in the United States on March 20, 2012, and has been translated into more than thirty languages. It is an Oprah Book Club 2.0 choice, made the New York Times Bestseller list and was optioned for film rights by Reese Witherspoon even before it was published. The film is scheduled to be released in 2014.

Strayed's first book, the novel Torch, was published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt in February 2006. She attended the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis, where she received her Bachelor of Arts degree, graduating magna cum laude with a double major in English and Women's Studies. A long-time feminist activist, Strayed served on the first board of directors for VIDA: Women in Literary Arts.


Book Seller





Loading Stock Details...

Bowker Bookwire™ App

Bookwire is a mobile app for your iPhone that gives you the ability to scan a barcode or enter ISBN, access book records and add titles to wish lists. Android app on Google Play

Featured Books

The World According to Star Wars
Sunstein, Cass R.
Hardback: $21.99
Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children
Riggs, Ransom
Paperback: $11.99
A Christmas Carol
Dickens, Charles
Hardback: $21.95

Rate this title:

Select your rating below then click 'submit'.

I do not wish to rate this title.