Search Type
  • All
  • Subject
  • Title
  • Author
  • Publisher
  • Series Title
Search Title

Download

Butterfly Yellow

Butterfly Yellow( )
Author: Lai, Thanhhà
Read by: Lam, LuLu
ISBN:978-1-9826-8747-2
Publication Date:Sep 2019
Publisher:HarperCollins Canada, Limited
Book Format:CD-Audio
List Price:USD $29.99
Book Description:

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again.

In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a split second, Linh is ripped from her arms--and Hằng is left behind in the war-torn country.

Six years...
More Description

Author Biography
Lai, Thanhhà (Author)
Thanhha Lai was born in 1965 in Vietnam. She is an American writer of children's literature. At the Fall of Saigon April 30, 1975, her soldier father was missing in action. Mother and children fled to the United States and moved to Montgomery,Alabama, because one man there was willing to sponsor all ten of them. Before high school, the family had moved to Fort Worth, Texas. Lai graduated from University of Texas, Austin with a degree in journalism and from 1988 worked about two years for the Orange County, California newspaper The Register, covering Little Saigon, the local Vietnamese community. She earned a Master of Fine Arts from New York University and settled in New York City, where she teaches at Parsons The New School for Design.

In 2011, she won the National Book Award for Young People's Literature and a Newbery Honor for her debut novel, Inside Out & Back Again, published by HarperCollins. It is a verse novel based on her first year in the United States, a ten-year-old child who spoke no English when she arrived. In 2013 this novel made The New York Times best seller list.

030

030



Featured Books

The Book of Love
Link, Kelly
Hardback: $31.00
Table for Two
Towles, Amor
Hardback: $32.00
The Sicilian Inheritance
Piazza, Jo
Hardback: $28.00

Rate this title:

Select your rating below then click 'submit'.






I do not wish to rate this title.