Search Type
  • All
  • Subject
  • Title
  • Author
  • Publisher
  • Series Title
Search Title

Download

We Are Not in This Together

We Are Not in This Together( )
Author: Kittredge, William
Introduction by: Carver, Raymond
Series title:Graywolf Short Fiction Ser.
ISBN:978-0-915308-44-6
Publication Date:Jan 1984
Publisher:Graywolf Press
Book Format:Hardback
List Price:USD $11.00
Book Details
Pages:131
Physical Dimensions (W X L X H):5.34 x 8.42 x 0.41 Inches
Book Weight:4.4 Pounds
Author Biography
Kittredge, William (Author)
Born in 1938 in an Oregon logging town, Raymond Carver grew up in Yakima, From California he went to Iowa to attend the Iowa Writers Workshop. Soon, however, he returned to California, where he worked at a number of unskilled jobs before obtaining a teaching position.

Widely acclaimed as the most important short story writer of his generation, Carver writes about the kind of lower-middle-class people whom he knew growing up. His characters are waitresses, mechanics, postmen, high school teachers, factory workers, door-to-door salesmen who lead drab lives because of limited funds. Critics have said that may have the most distinctive vision of the working class.

Nominated posthumously for both a National Book Critics Circle Award (1988) and a Pulitzer Prize (1989) for Where I'm Calling From: New and Selected Stories (1988), Carver is one of a handful of writers credited with reviving the short story form. Some have put Carver in the tradition of Ernest Hemingway and Stephen Crane. Carver's stories tend to be brief, with enigmatic endings, although never erupting. Violence is often just below the surface. An air of quiet desperation pervades his stories, as Carver explores the collapse of human relationships in bleak circumstances. In later works, Carver strikes a note of redemption, unheard at the beginning of his career. But for readers who are not attuned to Carver's voice of resignation, these moments may sound sentimental and unconvincing.

Carver died of lung cancer in 1988.

020



Featured Books

A Tale of Two Cities
Dickens, Charles
Paperback: $19.99
Under Currents
Roberts, Nora
Hardback:
The Perfect Couple
Hilderbrand, Elin
Paperback: $9.99

Rate this title:

Select your rating below then click 'submit'.






I do not wish to rate this title.