Search Type
  • All
  • Subject
  • Title
  • Author
  • Publisher
  • Series Title
Search Title

Download

When Breath Becomes Air

When Breath Becomes Air( 9 customer ratings | )
Author: Kalanithi, Paul
Foreword by: Verghese, Abraham
ISBN:978-0-8129-8840-6
Publication Date:Jan 2016
Publisher:Random House Publishing Group
Imprint:Random House
Book Format:Hardback
List Price:USD $26.00
Book Description:

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor...
More Description

Author Biography
Kalanithi, Paul (Author)
Abraham Verghese was born in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia in 1955. He received an M.D. from Madras University, India, in 1979 and came to the U.S a year later to do a residency in Tennessee. He also earned an M.F.A. from the University of Iowa in 1991.

Verghese has been involved mainly in medical research and teaching. His specialties include internal medicine, pulmonary diseases, geriatrics, and infectious diseases; the latter has led to an interest in AIDS, which has been the subject of much of his writing. Verghese's thesis was a collection of stories about AIDS, and he then went on to write My Own Country: A Doctor's Story of a Town and Its People in the Age of AIDS. My Own Country received the Lambda Literary Award for Nonfiction and was selected by Time as one of the top five books of 1994.

Verghese is also the author of The Tennis Partner: A Doctor's Story of Friendship and Loss, and his short stories, articles, and reviews have appeared in magazines and newspapers such as North American Review, Sports Illustrated, and MD.

Verghese, who is divorced, has two children, Steven and Jacob and resides in El Paso, Tex.

030



Featured Books

Sisters First
Hager, Jenna Bush
Hardback: $18.99
Grand Union
Smith, Zadie
Hardback: $27.00
Blowout
Maddow, Rachel
Paperback: $32.00

Rate this title:

Select your rating below then click 'submit'.






I do not wish to rate this title.