Search Type
  • All
  • Subject
  • Title
  • Author
  • Publisher
  • Series Title
Search Title

Download

The Double Death of Quincas Water-Bray

The Double Death of Quincas Water-Bray( )
Author: Amado, Jorge
Translator: Rabassa, Gregory
Introduction by: Galchen, Rivka
ISBN:978-0-14-310636-4
Publication Date:Oct 2012
Publisher:Penguin Publishing Group
Book Format:Paperback
List Price:AUD $35.00
Book Description:

A Penguin Classic Widely considered the greatest work by the foremost Brazilian author of the twentieth century, The Double Death of Quincas Water-Bray comes to Penguin Classics in a new translation by the dean of Portuguese-language translators, Gregory Rabassa. It tells the story of Joaquim Soares da Cunha, who drops dead after he abandons his life of upstanding citizenship to assume the identity of Quincas Water-Bray, a "champion drunk" and bum who is...
More Description

Book Details
Pages:96
Detailed Subjects: Fiction / Humorous / General
Physical Dimensions (W X L X H):13.106 x 19.609 x 0.686 cm
Book Weight:0.085 Kilograms
Author Biography
Amado, Jorge (Author)
Jorge Amado, August 10, 1912 - August 6, 2001 Elected to the Brazilian Academy of Letters, Jorge Amado possesses a talent for storytelling as well as a deep concern for social and economic justice. He was born in Bahia, Brazil, in 1912.

Some critics claim that his early works suffer from his politics. Others commonly express reservations concerning Amado's sentimentality and erotico-mythic stereotyping. In the works represented in English translation, his literary merits prevail. The Violent Land (1942) chronicles the development of Brazilian territory and struggles for its resources, memorializing the deeds of those who built the country. Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon (1958), which achieved critical and popular success in both Brazil and the United States, tells a sensual love story of a Syrian bar owner and his beautiful cook. Home Is the Sailor (1962) introduces Captain Vasco Moscoso de Aragao, a comic figure in the tradition of Don Quixote. In Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands (1966), Amado introduced the folk culture of shamans and Yorube gods. The protagonists of Shepherds of the Night (1964) are Bahia's poor.

020



Featured Books

Grief Is for People
Crosley, Sloane
Hardback: $27.00
Sense and Sensibility
Austen, Jane
Hardback: $17.00
Cinema Speculation
Tarantino, Quentin
Paperback: $21.00

Rate this title:

Select your rating below then click 'submit'.






I do not wish to rate this title.