Search Type
  • All
  • Subject
  • Title
  • Author
  • Publisher
  • Series Title
Search Title

Download

In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson( )
Author: Lord, Bette Bao
Illustrator: Simont, Marc
ISBN:978-0-06-440175-3
Publication Date:Apr 2019
Publisher:HarperCollins Publishers
Book Format:Paperback
List Price:USD $6.99
Book Description:

A timeless classic that will enchant readers who love Jennifer L. Holm and Thanhha Lai, about an immigrant girl inspired by the sport she loves to find her own home team--and to break down any barriers that stand in her way.

Shirley Temple Wong sails from China to America with a heart full of dreams. Her new home is Brooklyn, New York. America is indeed a land full of wonders, but Shirley doesn't know any English, so it's hard to make friends.

Then a miracle...
More Description

Author Biography
Lord, Bette Bao (Author)
Bette Bao Lord, Bette Bao Lord was born in Shanghai and came to the United States when she was eight years old. Her father, a British trained engineer, was sent to the U.S. in 1946 by the Chinese government to purchase equipment. The family was stranded, in 1947, when Mao Zedong and the communist rebels won the civil war in China. Lord received an M.A. from Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy and graduated with her B.A. from Tufts University. She married Winston Lord, former Ambassador to China and high Ranking State Department official.

Lord's first novel, "Spring Moon" (1981), which is set in pre-revolutionary China, was an international bestseller and an American Book Award nominee for best first novel. She has also written about her painful childhood experiences, as a Chinese immigrant in the United States post World War II, in the autobiographical children's book "In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson." The book tells how she struggled to learn English and be accepted by her classmates. "The Middle Heart" spans 70 years of modern Chinese history, ending with the demonstrations in Tiananmen Square in 1989. She has also written articles for such publications as the Los Angeles Times, Newsweek, The New York Times, and USA Today. She has also co-produced The People's Art Theatre's Beijing production of The Caine Mutiny, directed by Charlton Heston.

Ms. Lord has received the honor of an appointment by President Clinton to the International Broadcasting Board of Governors to oversee all U.S. non-military international broadcasting. She is also the chairperson the Freedom House, which promotes democratic institutions around the world. President Clinton said of Ms. Lord at one of the organizations conferences, "I'm honored to be introduced by someone who writes so powerfully about the past and is working so effectively to shape the future." She has sat on the Board of Trustees of The Freedom Forum, The Kennedy Center Community and Frien



Featured Books

These Truths
Lepore, Jill
Paperback: $19.95
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland
Carroll, Lewis
Paperback: $6.95
Tidelands
Gregory, Philippa
Electronic book text:

Rate this title:

Select your rating below then click 'submit'.






I do not wish to rate this title.