Search Type
  • All
  • Subject
  • Title
  • Author
  • Publisher
  • Series Title
Search Title


Johannes Brahms

Life and Letters

Johannes Brahms( )
Editor: Avins, Styra
Translator: Avins, Styra
Eisinger, Josef
Author: Brahms, Johannes
Publication Date:Feb 1998
Publisher:Oxford University Press, Incorporated
Book Format:Hardback
List Price:USD $215.00
Book Description:

This is the first comprehensive English-language collection of Brahms's letters. It contains over 550 letters, including more than a dozen previously unpublished in any language. The letters are woven together with an extended biographical narrative, and span the entire life of the composer. For the first time, English readers and music-lovers have the opportunity to meet Brahms in person, through his words, and in his own voice.

Book Details
Detailed Subjects: Music / Genres & Styles / Classical
Biography & Autobiography / Music
Physical Dimensions (W X L X H):6.084 x 9.126 x 1.911 Inches
Book Weight:2.882 Pounds
Author Biography
Brahms, Johannes (Editor)
A composer, pianist, and conductor, Johannes Brahms was born in Hamburg, Germany. Possessing a talent that could have taken him in any musical direction, he chose the piano and composing. He made his debut as a pianist at the age of 14. In 1853 Brahms met the German composer Robert Schumann, who regarded Brahms as a genius. Schumann and his wife Clara, a noted concert pianist, became Brahms's lifelong friends. In 1862 Brahms moved to Vienna, where his talents as a composer reached full flower. The music of Brahms shows great respect for the form and structure of eighteenth-century classicism, yet it also incorporates the romantic style that was typical of the nineteenth century.

Brahms is considered a giant among nineteenth-century composers of chamber music and symphonies. Among his 24 published chamber-music works are a piano trio in B, opus 8 (1854); two string quartets; two piano quartets; and a piano quintet in F minor, opus 34a (1864). He composed four great symphonies: Symphony in C Minor (completed in1876), Symphony in D Minor (1877), Symphony in F Major (1883), and Symphony in E Minor (1885).

While classic in structure and design, Brahms's symphonies are romantic in their musical language and sound. Nonetheless, they exhibit feelings of repose that illustrate a return to discipline and a revival of order and form, indicative of changes in music to come in the 1900s. Today, many of the works of Brahms are staples of the concert repertoire.

Brahms died in 1897.


Featured Books

Animal Farm
Orwell, George
Paperback: $9.99
Little Women
Alcott, Louisa May
Paperback: $19.77
The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
Stevenson, Robert Louis
Paperback: $10.00

Rate this title:

Select your rating below then click 'submit'.

I do not wish to rate this title.