Search Type
  • All
  • Subject
  • Title
  • Author
  • Publisher
  • Series Title
Search Title

Download

Quicksand

Quicksand( )
Author: Toltz, Steve
ISBN:978-1-4767-9783-0
Publication Date:Apr 2016
Publisher:Simon & Schuster
Book Format:Paperback
List Price:USD $17.00
Book Description:

This fearlessly funny, outrageously inventive dark comedy about two lifelong friends is "a delightful literary novel...extraordinarily imaginative" (Psychology Today) from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz--for fans of Dave Eggers, Martin Amis, and David Foster Wallace. Liam is a struggling writer and a failing cop. Aldo, his best friend and muse, is a haplessly criminal entrepreneur with an uncanny knack for disaster. As Aldo's luck worsens, Liam is inspired to...
More Description

Book Details
Pages:368
Detailed Subjects: Fiction / Satire
Physical Dimensions (W X L X H):5.5 x 8.375 x 1.1 Inches
Book Weight:0.735 Pounds
Author Biography
Toltz, Steve (Author)


Steve Toltz was born in 1972 in Sydney. His first novel, A Fraction of the Whole, was released in 2008. It is a comic novel which tells the history of a family of Australian outcasts. The narration of the novel alternates between Jasper Dean, a philosophical, idealistic boy, who grows up throughout the novel and his father, Martin Dean, a philosopher and shut-in described at the start of the novel as "the most hated man in all of Australia" The novel has repeatedly been compared favourably to John Kennedy Toole's Pulitzer Prize winning novel A Confederacy of Dunces. A Fraction of the Whole was shortlisted for the 2008 Man Booker Prize and the 2008 Guardian First Book Award. His second novel, Quicksand, is expected to be published in 2015. He will be at the Oz, New Zealand festival of literature and arts program in 2015 in London. He will also be at the Sydney Writers Festival 2015.

030



Featured Books

Nine Perfect Strangers
Moriarty, Liane
Paperback: $17.99
Northanger Abbey
Austen, Jane
Paperback: $6.99
The Divine Comedy
Alighieri, Dante
Paperback: $30.99

Rate this title:

Select your rating below then click 'submit'.






I do not wish to rate this title.